We Fight DUI Charges
An experienced attorney can help you keep your license and stay out of jail
Being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) can have huge implications for the rest of your life. You might be facing a license suspension that makes it impossible to get to work or school. Your career might be in jeopardy. You may have a hard time caring or providing for your family.
You need to fight those charges - and you need a strong legal advocate on your side. Recht Law has been standing up for Weirton residents since 1952. Attorney Steven M. Recht knows how to fight your DUI charge, and he knows how to win complex criminal defense cases.
West Virginia has tough DUI laws. We can help.
Even if you've never been charged with drunk driving before, a first offense can lead to some serious consequences. Your driver's license will be suspended for 15 to 45 days, and you may face a fine of up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail. You also may be required to put an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle.
Those penalties only get worse if you have previous DUI convictions within the last 10 years - this is known as the "lookback period" in West Virginia. For a second offense, you will face a one-year license suspension, a fine of up to $3,000 and up to 12 months in jail, and the IID will be required. A third offense means you could go to jail for up to three years and be ordered to pay up to $5,000 in fines.
Because of this system of escalating penalties, it's very important to fight every charge. An experienced DUI defense lawyer from our firm may be able to get your charges reduced to a lesser offense such as reckless driving, if not dismissed entirely.
Chemical tests and implied consent
West Virginia has an implied consent law, which means that by being a licensed driver, you consent to giving a blood, breath or urine test if you are stopped on suspicion of DUI. If you refuse to submit to testing, your license will be revoked.
However, even if you failed a chemical test, you may not be convicted of DUI. Any test could have been mishandled or misinterpreted. Our legal team will work to have the test results thrown out or find other ways to get the charges reduced or dismissed.
Remember, the sooner we get to work on your case, the sooner you can fight those charges and get back on the road. Contact us right away for a free consultation. Call 1-800-487-8546.